Say Bach, Say Schubert

Fazil Say performs Goldberg variations
Fri 25 Oct / 20:15
Fri 25 Oct ’24
  • Fri 25 Oct ’24
    Concertzaal, Den Haag

For many years, the Turkish pianist and composer Fazil Say has been garnering praise worldwide. Now, he takes on one of the greatest monuments in harpsichord music: Bach’s Goldberg variations. Say combines the thirty variations with Schubert’s beloved Sonata no. 21. 


Johann Sebastian Bach Goldberg Variaties
Franz Schubert Sonate nr. 21

The Goldberg variations are nothing short of a gargantuan task for a pianist, and world-renowned recordings have been made of them, for instance by Glenn Gould. It therefore shows admirable courage on the part of Fazil Say to take them on. But when he plays, it seems as if he is creating the variations on the spot, as one big improvisation. As a result, these famous masterpieces by Bach and also by Schubert sound like new.  

Cloakroom and drink  
Cloakroom and an intermission drink are included. If the event does not have an intermission, you will receive the drink afterwards.  

Series discount
Order all the concerts in the series in order to use the 20% discount with pricetype Seriekorting.

Ooievaarspas discount  
Ooievaarspas holders are eligible for a discount on the ticket price for this concert. To book tickets, we need to see your Ooievaarspas for registration purposes. Please contact our booking office to book your tickets.  


Fazıl Say piano