NJO Winter tour

National Youth Orchestra of the Netherlands
Sun 28 Jan / 14:15 - 16:05
Sun 28 Jan ’24
14:15 - 16:05
  • Sun 28 Jan ’24
    14:15 - 16:05
    Concertzaal, Den Haag

With its annual projects, Nationaal Jeugdorkest (NJO) offers opportunities for young musical talent between the ages of 18 and 26. For the 2024 Winter Tour, the orchestra, under the baton of conductor Martin Sieghart, will perform Bruckner's magnum opus the ninth and Elgar's Cello concerto


Edward Elgar Cello Concerto Opus 85 in e
Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 9 in d

After a period of British nationalism, Edward Elgar (1857-1934) musically expresses the feeling of defeat following the horrors of the First World War with his 1919 Cello Concerto. It is also Elgar's last major composition, transparently orchestrated with a magnificent role for the cello. With her passionate way of playing, Harriet Krijgh is the up-and-coming cello talent for the interpretation of the solo in this performance.

Ooievaarspas discount
Ooievaarspas holders are eligible for a discount on the ticket price for this concert. To book tickets, we need to see your Ooievaarspas for registration purposes. Please contact our booking office to book your tickets.

Cloakroom and drink
Cloakroom and an intermission drink are included. If the event does not have an intermission, you will receive the drink afterwards.

Anton Bruckner (1824-1896) achieves enormous depth in his symphonies with his unique combination of building on the classical tradition and Wagnerian urge for innovation. His Ninth Symphony may be unfinished, but it remains an absolute nineteenth-century highlight. Here it is in good hands with Bruckner specialist Martin Sieghart.


Het Nationaal Jeugdorkest (NJO)
Martin Sieghart conductor 
Harriet Krijgh soloist