Christmas with the Residentie Orkest

Residentie Orkest
Fri 20 Dec and Sun 22 Dec
Fri 20 Dec ’24
Sun 22 Dec ’24
  • Fri 20 Dec ’24
    Concertzaal, Den Haag
  • Sun 22 Dec ’24
    Concertzaal, Den Haag

Discover the soul of winter in Tchaikovsky’s journey through the snow. Yeol Eum Son casts a spell with Rachmaninoff, led by the passionate Kwamé Ryan. 


Svendsen Romeo en Julia
Rachmaninov Pianoconcert nr. 3
Tsjaikovski Symfonie nr. 1 ‘Winterdromen’

The cold season has its own beauty and melancholy. Tchaikovsky’s Winter Daydreams is a symphony that takes winter as a metaphor for life. It is a piece full of contrasts, with sparkling lights and dark shadows, warm feelings and chilling loneliness. Tchaikovsky uses a rich palette of tones, rhythms and motifs that will flutter and, at other times, rage through the concert hall tonight. 

Cloakroom and drink 
Cloakroom and an intermission drink are included. If the event does not have an intermission, you will receive the drink afterwards.  

The incredible Yeol Eum Son, former artist-in-residence of the Residentie Orkest, the Royal Conservatoire of The Hague, and Amare, will be taking place at the piano for Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3. This piece is a symphonic poem that brings to life the dialogue and harmony between the soloist and the orchestra, striking a balance between personal emotion and universal message. Holding the reins tonight is Kwamé Ryan, whose chemistry with the Residentie Orkest during the much talked-about opera production Blue at DNO was extraordinary. In an exciting contrast to the night’s wintry theme, the evening starts with the famous romantic couple of Romeo and Juliet in a dreamlike interpretation by the Norwegian Romantic composer Johan Svendsen, who remains relatively unknown in the Netherlands.

Ooievaarspas discount  
Ooievaarspas holders are eligible for a discount on the ticket price for this concert. To book tickets, we need to see your Ooievaarspas for registration purposes. Please contact our booking office to book your tickets.  


Kwamé Ryan dirigent
Yeol Eum Son piano