A New Journey

B'Rock Orchestra & René Jacobs
Fri 29 Sep 20:15 - 22:05
Fri 29 Sep '23
20:15 - 22:05
  • Fri 29 Sep '23
    20:15 - 22:05
    Amare, Den Haag

With performances and recordings of Schubert's complete symphonies, B'Rock and René Jacobs embarked on a symphonic journey that they are now taking a step further in time: together they explore the world of Felix Mendelssohn.


F.Schubert - Symphony nr 8 - Die unvolendete
F. Mendelssohn - Violin Concerto in E minor - op 64
F. Mendelssohn - Fifth Symphony (Reformation)

At 15 years old, Mendelssohn wrote his stormy First Symphony, strongly anchored in Viennese classicism but resolutely looking ahead. The young composer already showed himself to be a master who could effortlessly combine nuance, boldness and innovation. The same ingredients characterize his famous Fifth Symphony, which he wrote in honor of the 300th anniversary of the Augsburg Confession, a key document of Protestantism. Those who can't resist the urge can hum (softly) along with Luther's famous chorale Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott... The highlight of this Mendelssohn program is undoubtedly the famous Violin Concerto. With its tenderness, mischievous humor and elegance, the work seems to have been written for Vilde Frang.

Ooievaarspas discount
Ooievaarspas holders are eligible for a discount on the ticket price for this concert. To book tickets, we need to see your Ooievaarspas for registration purposes. Please contact our booking office to book your tickets.

Cloakroom and drink
Cloakroom and an intermission drink are included. If the event does not have an intermission, you will receive the drink afterwards.


B'Rock Orchestra
René Jacobs conductor
Vilde Frang violin