Prokofiev & Schumann

Residentie Orkest
Fri 9 May / 20:15
Fri 9 May ’25
  • Fri 9 May ’25
    Concertzaal, Den Haag

The piano and orchestra shine tonight in three very special pieces by Mendelssohn, Schumann and Prokofiev. Nimbleness and experimentation, bursting with technical skill. 


Mendelssohn Ouverture ‘Die schöne Melusine’
Prokofjev Pianoconcert nr. 3
Schumann Symfonie nr. 4

Tonight, the Residentie Orkest presents a delightful combination of playfulness and incisiveness, glitz and elegance. At the piano is the fantastic young soloist Isata Kanneh-Mason, a scion of the exceptionally musical Kanneh-Mason family whose seven children are all talented musicians, including cellist Sheku Kanneh-Mason. Isata Kanneh-Mason previously performed Piano Concerto No. 3 by Sergei Prokofiev, the rebel and innovator. That was with the BBC; tonight, he is performing with Residentie Orkest in a varied, rhythmic concert – trembling, galloping, but also colourful and ebullient. It is an unusually exciting meeting of talent and technique. 

Cloakroom and drink 
Cloakroom and an intermission drink are included. If the event does not have an intermission, you will receive the drink afterwards.  

Also being performed tonight is Schumann’s Symphony No. 4, originally a birthday gift for his beloved Clara, back in the care-free days of their lives – a spectacular, dramatic masterpiece – as well as Die schöne Melusine by Felix Mendelssohn, an overture with a beautiful and magical opening. German conductor Ruth Reinhardt returns to The Hague for the occasion, complementing Isata Kanneh-Mason’s talent with her energy, precision and deep insight. This will undoubtedly be a night to remember. 

Ooievaarspas discount 
Ooievaarspas holders are eligible for a discount on the ticket price for this concert. To book tickets, we need to see your Ooievaarspas for registration purposes. Please contact our booking office to book your tickets.  


Ruth Reinhardt dirigent
Isata Kanneh-Mason piano