Tinka Pypker, Jelmer de Moed, Jeroen Dupont, a.o.

Schubert, Schubert/Dünser
Februari Festival
Thu 24 Feb / 20:00
Thu 24 Feb ’22
  • Thu 24 Feb ’22
    Nieuwe Kerk, The Hague

With its irresistible melodies, its amiably frolicking passages and sweetly melancholic tone, Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony remains one of his most iconic works.


Franz Schubert Quartettsatz in C minor, D703
Compositions by students of Royal Conservatory The Hague Julian de Looff | Marie Lavie | Amarante Nat world premieres, inspired by Schubert
Franz Schubert/ Richard Dünser Drei Stücke, arr. Richard Dünser from D946 I/II & D625 IV for wind quintet, string quartet and double bass - Dutch premiere
Franz Schubert Der Hirt auf dem Felsen, D965
Franz Schubert/ Ishay Shaer Symphony No. 8 in B minor, D759 ‘Unfinished‘, arr. Ishay Shaer for piano & string quartet ‘The Unfinished Quintet’ - Dutch premiere



Simply Quartet
Tinka Pypker soprano
Ishay Shaer piano
Peter Nilsson piano
Jeroen Dupont violin
Andrej Roszyk violin
Takehiro Konoe viola
Emanuele Silvestri cello
Jelmer de Moed clarinet
Mees Vos horn
Andrea Dettori double bass
Members Residentie Orchestra Eline van Esch, flute - Barbara Patrícío, oboe - Dorian Cooke, bassoon

In spite of its name, Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony is far from his only unfinished work. He had a drawer full of sketches, fragments and loose sections of pieces that never saw completion, such as the wonderful Quartettsatz in C, which Schubert inexplicably never developed into a full quartet. Fortunately, one piece that he did complete was Der Hirt auf dem Felsen (The Shepherd on the Rock), uniquely arranged for piano, soprano and clarinet.

Austrian composer Richard Dünser has a life-long fascination for Schubert, and has adapted three of his piano pieces for mixed arrangements of wind and strings, in the spirit of Schubert’s own famous octet. The Royal Conservatoire’s composition students also used Schubert’s work as the inspiration for their own compositions, which are premiering in this concert. 

The finale of this unique Schubertiade is the Unfinished Symphony, in the Dutch premiere of pianist Ishay Shaers’s own adaptation for piano quintet. Whether this symphony really deserves to be called unfinished, is still a topic for discussion!