Mahler 4

Residentie Orkest
Fri 23 May and Sun 25 May
Fri 23 May ’25
Sun 25 May ’25
  • Fri 23 May ’25
    Concertzaal, Den Haag
  • Sun 25 May ’25
    Concertzaal, Den Haag

Tonight, the cello and violin shine. The Residentie Orkest concludes the season in its own unique style with Mahler’s heavenly Fourth and the Hungarian strings of Béla Bartók. 


One Minute Symphony
Bartók Hongaarse schetsen
Bartók Altvioolconcert (versie voor cello)
Mahler Symfonie nr. 4

In the Residentie Orkest’s final concert of the season in Amare, the orchestra’s soon-to-be chief conductor, Jun Märkl, leads a spectacular finale. He will be conducting Mahler’s heavenly Symphony No. 4, a piece that explores innocence, the supernatural and the idyllic, with a special emphasis on the everyday and the playful. The finale, sung by soprano Elizabeth Watts, invokes a serene image of the afterlife. This exploration of Mahler’s fascination with children’s perception is one of the most beloved symphonies in musical history. The concert opens with Bartók and top-flight cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras in his final concert as artist-in-residence. 

Cloakroom and drink 
Cloakroom and an intermission drink are included. If the event does not have an intermission, you will receive the drink afterwards.  

The season’s finale will see the incredible Queyras performing a personal favourite: Béla Bartók’s Viola Concerto, reworked by Queyras himself. An innovative and versatile composer, Bartók is still famed for his tremendous originality: rich combinations of folk music, a unique classical style, dissonance, unconventional harmonies and a passion for music. The Viola Concerto was one of his last compositions. The Residentie Orkest and Queyras previously joined forces for Queyras’s reworked version in 2022, in a performance praised by the daily newspaper Trouw: “A virtuoso, cutting sound, performed with great zeal.” 

Ooievaarspas discount 
Ooievaarspas holders are eligible for a discount on the ticket price for this concert. To book tickets, we need to see your Ooievaarspas for registration purposes. Please contact our booking office to book your tickets.  


Jun Märkl dirigent
Jean-Guihen Queyras cello
Elizabeth Watts sopraan